Vampires of Moscow: a map

3 Nov

I like handouts. They add an additional layer of immersion to a roleplaying session and can help evoke the setting and the mood. When I started thinking about my Vampire the Requiem campaign, I knew I would have to have a map of Moscow from the vampire’s perspective. With its neo-feudal political structure, its hunting grounds and subinfeudation, I wanted to give my players to get a strong sense of the various factions at work and the scope of the city.

As I mentioned earlier, I didn’t want to play the game tourist-style, taking the players through all the famous Moscow landmarks like an urban horror version of a Fodor’s walking guide. Instead I wanted to evoke a slightly over-wrought version of Moscow where they could really believe that vampires walked. To this end I decided to rename the administrative okrugs with names chosen by the city’s ruling faction, The Circle of the Crone (reworked in my setting as terrifying blood witches who worship Baba Yaga). Notable features of each district (or forgotten historical incidents) became the new titles — ‘the grove’, ‘the gates’, ‘the cemetery’, and so on… These would help distinguish the okrugs more than their actual Soviet era titles when running the game as well as evoking a different for each neighborhood.

I opted to make the central administrative okrug, or ‘the hill’, a de facto embassy region, where kindred could hunt and meet without needing the permission of a district’s Regent. This helped to set it apart from the other okrugs as well as highlighting the tenuous detente that binds the city together.

At some point I’ll post a little more about the districts and the significant locations they contain. Much of this will come out of play as the campaign progresses. Who knows, I might have enough notes to put together a brief VtR city guide.

Vampire the Requiem Moscow City Map 504kb PDF

5 Responses to “Vampires of Moscow: a map”

  1. Ghost0 November 6, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

    Love your material. Very professional looking. I’ve downloaded some but haven’t had the chance to use them in a game since its hard to find WoD players in my little town.

    • RPG Plotter November 6, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

      Thanks for the kind words. Here’s hoping you find some players soon. Have you considered finding some like-minded folk and introducing them to roleplaying for the first time? I’ve found this to be a very rewarding experience.

      • Ghost0 November 7, 2010 at 2:24 pm #

        Tried to introduce it to my current troupe but they don’t care for it, and I’m not a great ST either so I’ve been looking online on the White Wolf forums. I have to be patient though, since its taking a lot longer than I expected to find a group. Appears to be working out though, slowly, but surely.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Vampires of Moscow: a map « RPG PLOTTER -- Topsy.com - November 4, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Erick Patrick, RPG Plotter. RPG Plotter said: Vampires of Moscow – a map: http://bit.ly/b3BpYX #RPG #whitewolf […]

  2. Blood Money 2: Dark Territories (Part 2) « RPG PLOTTER - June 9, 2011

    […] the dissection of Moscow’s Vampire territories. Again the city map is here, some general notes on this Vampire: The Requiem chronicle setting are […]

Leave a Reply

