Vampire the Requiem – New Player Primer

27 Sep

This is the second part of the information pack I included for the players of my new Vampire the Requiem campaign. As part of my email giving them the pitch for the game, I attached a PDF quick summary of the key points about the game’s background. I wanted to make it as atmospheric as possible while keeping it short and snappy. One of the players is an old hand at Vampire the Masquerade, but the other two are entirely new to the game setting. I wanted to get their creative juices flowing before we pulled out the World of Darkness rulebook and started working through skill points and disciplines.

I’m putting it up online (sans copyrighted CCP/White Wolf images) in case others out there will find it useful for their campaigns. It should work well as a primer for those who aren’t familiar with the VtR set up, something to be read prior to the nitty-gritty of character creation. Information such as city location, sire backgrounds, etc are all kept deliberately vague to make it broadly applicable. As always, if you used it for your gaming I’d love to hear about it.


Vampire Requiem player primer v4 270kb PDF
(Suitable for emailing and reading on screen)

Vampire Requiem player primer (Print Friendly) 844kb PDF
(Suitable for printing)

4 Responses to “Vampire the Requiem – New Player Primer”

  1. Nikitas September 28, 2010 at 5:31 am #

    A quick question about the atmosphere: do you often use music in every game session? If so, how do you manage to keep the timing? (like, one kind of music for general “russian” atmosphere, or one theme music for one particular NPC, or one for combat etc.)

    thanks for the advice.

    oh, another thing. I had some problems myself in passing from Vampire the Masquerade to Vampire the Requiem: even if I strived to keep my mind open to the new settings, clan, sects and (mostly) the Vice/Virtue system, I realized I was thinking about how to make a Requiem character that could resemble a Masquerade character. I couldn’t explain better than this way. Just, keep in mind that they’re two separate games, or you’re probably going to be disappointed..

    • RPG Plotter September 28, 2010 at 10:04 pm #

      I do use music, I can still remember the days when I used to swap between CDs… I have one of two ways of doing it:

      – playlists by theme (a you’ve already suggested) or

      – playlists by ‘scene’ (ie, travelling through the city, debating at Elysium, etc although it takes more time.

      I use soundtracks and a lot of ambient music (dark ambient usually in my games) that can loop easily and another layer to play in the background of the session rather than dominating. You’ve actually pre-empted a post I was planning with this question. I’ll move it forwards on my ‘to do’ list seeing as there’s interest.

      Requiem/Masquerade – Yeah. There can be issues. The first VtR game I played i had some difficulty with the setting shift, the Covenants mostly. I liked the rules updates and the de-powering of the disciplines. I’m not really into the meta-plot so I never really invested too much in this in VtM and was glad to see that they (initially) dispensed with it in VtR. Still, I think VtR is the superior game even though the interior design of the rulebooks kinda suck.

  2. Nikitas September 28, 2010 at 11:11 pm #

    Thanks for the tips on music! I’ll try to practice them, although I realise I must plan more aforehead, and improvise a little bit less, in order to do as you usually do with music. I’m still “tuning” with my players, so to speak. I guess it takes time… I mean, it’s my first experience as a storyteller, and the guys in the group didn’t even know each other before starting playing!

    As for the Masquerade/Requiem topic. Well, I’m into the de-powering and the better explained and better defined rules. What I personally dislike is the Virtue/Vice system (I see it as a semplification, I liked the Nature/Demeanor system), and the fact that, using the same core rules for every game line, it’s possible and somehow encouraged the crossover.
    I realize that both things can be avoided (maybe it is possible to use the old Nature/Demeanor system for the cahracterization, and if you don’t like werewolfs playing cards with vampires, you just forbid it!)… I just dislike them.

    and, as a techincal note, I must admit that we had some italian translation (of the Requiem handbooks) that were really really poor, because of the lack of time I guess. As it is, I still favour Masquerade over Requiem (if I just could find the players!), but being honest, maybe I didn’t try Requiem with a sufficiently open mind.

  3. Jason Badower October 2, 2010 at 4:44 pm #

    I just bought VtR and I can see how hard it’s going to be to change. I’d be curious to see if there were any perspectives you took that really helped make the transition.

    I tend to go through my playlist and just rename all the tracks. I start with categories: Action, Dark, Light, Med and then an idea after. So a track might read:

    Action Epic Glory
    Action Dark Horror
    Dark Inside of a forgotten temple
    Light Happy inn music
    Dark foreboding inn music

    Soundtracks from video games are great.

Leave a Reply

